Our Story

The River Were Benefice was formed in 2017 and comprises three parishes and four churches: St Aldhelm; St Denys The Minster Church (always known as the Minster); St John the Evangelist and St Mary the Virgin. 

Two of the churches are in Warminster: St John’s towards the eastern and the Minster is on the northern edge of the town. To the north and a mile or so away is St Mary’s in the village of Upton Scudamore while St Aldhelm’s is to the town’s south-east in Bishopstrow. The benefice is in the Heytesbury Deanery in the Diocese of Salisbury.